Constitution of Pakistan 1973

Introduction of the Constitution of Pakistan, 1973

The Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, also known as the 1973 Constitution, is the supreme law of Pakistan. It was passed by Parliament on 10 April, 1973 and ratified on 14 August 1973.

The Constitution is intended to define Pakistan’s law, political culture and system. It defines the state (its physical existence and boundaries), the people and their fundamental rights, the constitutional law and order of the state, and the constitutional structure and make-up of the country’s institutions and armed forces.

The first three chapters lay down the rules, mandate and separate powers of the three branches of government: a bicameral legislature, an executive headed by the prime minister as the chief executive officer, and a supreme federal judiciary headed by the Supreme Court.

The first six articles of the Constitution describe the political system as a federal, parliamentary republic system, as well as Islam as the state religion.

The Fundamental Rights of each Pakistani citizen are covered under Chapter II, Article 8 to 28. They ensure the protection of various civil, political, and social rights, promoting equality, freedom, and justice within the country. The Constitution serves as the bedrock for upholding these rights and plays a vital role in shaping the democratic fabric of Pakistan.

The Constitution designates the President of Pakistan as the ceremonial head of state to represent the unity of the state.

The Constitution also contains provisions mandating the legal system’s adherence to Islamic precepts from the Qur’an and Sunnah.

Read/Download the Constitution of Pakistan, 1973

Here’s a chart listing Article 8 to Article 28 of the Constitution of Pakistan (1973) dealing with fundamental rights along with brief descriptions of what each article deals with:



Article 8

Loyalty to the State and obedience to the Constitution and the law.

Article 9

Security of person.

Article 10

Safeguards as to arrest and detention.

Article 10A

Right to a fair trial.

Article 11

Prohibition of slavery, forced labor, and child labor.

Article 12

Protection against retrospective punishment.

Article 13

Protection against double punishment and self-incrimination.

Article 14

Inviolability of dignity of man, etc.

Article 15

Freedom of movement, etc.

Article 16

Freedom of assembly.

Article 17

Freedom of association.

Article 18

Freedom of trade, business, or profession.

Article 19

Freedom of speech, etc.

Article 19A

Right to information.

Article 20

Freedom to profess religion and to manage religious institutions.

Article 21

Safeguard against taxation for purposes of any particular religion.

Article 22

Safeguards as to educational institutions in respect of religion, etc.

Article 23

Provision as to property.

Article 24

Prohibition of traffic in human beings and forced labor.

Article 25

Equality of citizens.

Article 25A

Right to education.

Article 26

Non-discrimination in respect of access to public places.

Article 27

Safeguard against discrimination in services.

Article 28

Preservation of language, script, and culture.